City, University of London


City, University of London (CUL) is a public research university in London, United Kingdom. It has been a constituent college of the University of London since 2016. It was founded in 1894 as the Northampton Institute, and became a university when The City University was created by royal charter in 1966. The Inns of Court School of Law, which merged with City in 2001, was established in 1852, making it the University's oldest constituent part. City joined the federal University of London on 1 September 2016, becoming part of the eighteen colleges and ten research institutes that make up that university.

City has strong links with the City of London, and the Lord Mayor of London serves as the university's rector. The university has its main campus in Central London in the London Borough of Islington, with additional campuses in Islington, the City, the West End and East End. The annual income of the institution for 2016–17 was £227 million, of which £11.6 million was from research grants and contracts, with an expenditure of £221.4 million. It is organised into five schools, within which there are around forty academic departments and centres, including the Department of Journalism, the Cass Business School, and City Law School which incorporates the Inns of Court School of Law.

City is ranked as the 351st best university worldwide by the QS World University Rankings 2020. The Cass Business School is ranked 5th in the UK, and in the top 40 in the world, in the Financial Times' 2017 Global MBA Rankings. City, University of London is a founding member of the WC2 University Network, a network of universities developed with the goal of bringing together leading universities located in the heart of major world cities in order to address cultural, environmental and political issues of common interest to world cities and their universities. The university is a member of the Association of MBAs, EQUIS and Universities UK.

City has sites throughout London, with the main campus located at Northampton Square in the Finsbury area of Islington. The Rhind Building which houses the School of Arts and Social Sciences is directly west of Northampton Square. A few buildings of the main campus are located in nearby Goswell Road in Clerkenwell.

Organization and administration

The rector of City, University of London, is ex officio the Lord Mayor of the City of London. The day-to-day running of the university is the responsibility of the president. The current president is Professor Sir Paul Curran.

City, University of London is organized into five schools:


  • Undergraduate Law
  • Postgraduate Law
  • Professional legal qualifications
  • Research degrees
  • Continuing Professional Development

Health Sciences

  • Division of Health Services Research and Management
  • Division of Language and Communication Science
  • Division of Midwifery anв Radiography
  • Division of Nursing
  • Division of Optometry and Visual Sciences

Arts and Social Science

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of English
  • Department of International Politics
  • Department of Journalism
  • Department of Music
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Sociology
  • Centre for Language Studies

 Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering

  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Library and Information Science
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering and Aeronautics

Sir John Cass Business School

  • Faculty of Actuarial Science and Insurance
  • Faculty of Finance
  • Faculty of Management

British Government assessment

City, University of London, offers Bachelor's, Master's, and Doctoral degrees as well as certificates and diplomas at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. More than two thirds of City's programmes are recognised by the appropriate professional bodies such as the BCS, BPS, CILIP, ICE, RICS, HPC etc. in recognition of the high standards of relevance to the professions. The University also has an online careers network where over 2,000 former students offer practical help to current students.

The City Law School offers courses for undergraduates, postgraduates, master graduates and professional courses leading to qualification as a solicitor or barrister, as well as continuing professional development. Its Legal Practice Course has the highest quality rating from the Solicitors Regulation Authority.

The Department of Radiography (part of the School of Community and Health Sciences) offers two radiography degrees, the BSc (Hons) Radiography (Diagnostic Imaging) and BSc (Hons) Radiography (Radiotherapy and Oncology), both of which are recognised by the Health Professions Council (HPC).

What can we do for you, so that you can start studying at City, University of London in England? – official representative of many higher education institutions abroad. We use the proven technologies of searching for academic programs and successful admission strategies, so our customers do not waste time searching for information and taking extra steps. While we are engaged in your admission, you can continue mastering a foreign language or preparing for exams.

  • We give information on studying in England for free;
  • We select the university, school, courses and academic program;
  • We prepare the correct set of documents;
  • We send the application to an educational institution;
  • We apply for scholarships/grants;
  • We help you get a student visa;
  • We organize a transfer to the door of the educational institution.

In order to get a free consultation, just fill out the form below and we will contact you during the working days!

Share with friends
Please, Call Me!